The University of Utah
College of Architecture + Planning

CMP’s End-of-the-Year Award Winners 2019

CMP’s End-of-the-Year Award Winners 2019

Naba Faizi, recipient of the Urban Design award at the 2019 City & Metropolitan Planning End-of-the-Year Celebration for her research in the history of the Japanese community in downtown Salt Lake City.

On Thursday, April 29th, 2019, students in the City & Metropolitan Planning Department were recognized for their creativity, innovation and academic excellence at the End-of-the-Year Celebration. 

Additionally, students, their friends & family, faculty, alumni, and professionals in the Utah planning community came to hear the poster presentations, a 5-minute lightning talk that summarizes a year-long professional project required for Master of City & Metropolitan Planning students. Planning for inclusive communities and improved accessibility for all people took the spotlight this year. 

Naba Faizi, a second-year graduate student in the Master of City & Metropolitan Planning program (and an alum of the Urban Ecology undergraduate program), focused on the history of the Japanese community in downtown Salt Lake City. Faizi reviewed archival materials at the Marriott Library and interviewed community members of Japantown. Her work documents the slow disappearance of Japantown over the decades. 

“I found that it’s really important to acknowledge who lives in our community when considering inclusive planning development decisions. Ethnic communities are often faced with racism and prejudice impacts,” said Faizi when asked about her research. “I really wanted to address that, and I feel that as a planner – especially in Salt Lake City that has become a majority minority city –  it’s really important to recognize that and know the best way to approach these types of issues.”

 Students mixed and mingled with professionals and veterans in the planning field at the End-of-the-Year Celebration, adding to the value of the event for especially upcoming graduates.  

Over 80 people attended the CMP End-of-the-Year Celebration, including students, faculty, alumni, and professionals in the planning field.“Planning never has been more important than it is today,” said Ted Knowlton, President of the Utah Chapter of the American Planning Association (APA-Utah), adjunct professor, and alumni. “Now is the time for planners to be proactive, to really be in the mix creating sustainable places that respond to the pressing needs of both Utah and our world.”

A few additional awards will be announced at the College of Architecture + Planning Convocation which takes place Friday, May 3rd, 2019 at 9:00 a.m. in the Olpin Union Ballroom. Learn more about 2019 Convocation by visiting the College of Architecture + Planning official website.


Here’s the list of the City & Metropolitan Planning department’s award winners this year:  



Outstanding Urban Ecology Student – Sophomore Award
Cody David Opperman
Outstanding Urban Ecology Student – Junior Award
Alexander Jacobs 
Undergraduate Student Special Achievement Award
Ian Wybe Van Der Merwe
Sumner M Swaner Medal for Achievement in Ecological Planning
Logan Hunt
Robert Farrington Medal for Academic Excellence in Urban Ecology
Lauren Leydsman 

Eugene Carr Award
Monika Roy
Graduate Student Special Achievement Award
Keegan Riley Stanton 
Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award
Annaka Egan
Best Professional Project Award
Fariba Siddiq
Kathrine Marie Skollingsberg  


Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award
Pratiti Tagore
Arthur C Nelson & Clark Ivory Medal for Doctoral Scholarship
Torrey Lyons


Ecological Planning
Leanne Bernstein
Emily Guffin
Kathrine Marie Skollingsberg

Smart Growth & Transportation
Annaka Egan
Taylor Greenwell
Matthew Montgomery
Fariba Siddiq
Kathrine Marie Skollingsberg

Urban Design
Leanne Bernstein
Naba Faizi
Nicole Pavez
Kate Werrett