The University of Utah
College of Architecture + Planning
Brenda Scheer, MArch, FAICP

Brenda Scheer, MARCH

University Faculty Profile

Brenda Case Scheer is a Professor of Architecture and City and Metropolitan Planning at the University of Utah. She is a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects and a Fellow of the American Institute of Certified Planners. She was dean of the College of Architecture + Planning from 2002-2013. She graduated with Bachelor’s and Masters degrees in architecture from Rice University and was a Loeb Fellow at the Harvard Graduate School of Design.

As dean, she has completely transformed and rebranded the College, formerly the Graduate School of Architecture. As a direct result of her efforts, the College boasts one of the most well regarded urban planning departments in the US and has interdisciplinary programs in product design, preservation, and sustainability. New degrees in the College include a Ph.D. in planning, a Masters of Real Estate Development (with the Business School), and a recently accredited graduate degree in City and Metropolitan Planning.

She was appointed an Assistant Professor at the University of Cincinnati and continued a successful urban design practice. Professor Scheer is also a scholar specializing in urban form, with 19 research grants or contracts, and twenty-six book chapters and journal articles. Her most recent book is The Evolution of Urban Form: Typology for Planners and Architects, (October 2010). Her research also focuses on design and planning policy. The mission of her research is to provide theory and guidance to designers and policy makers who combat sprawl and protect significant places.

Professor Scheer is an active leader in local and national community organizations, including her current and past service on the Girl Scouts of Utah Board, the AIA Utah Board, the Capitol City Committee, the Utah APA board, the Envision Utah board and executive committee, the Artspace board, the Salt Lake County Center for the Arts Board, the national Landscape Architecture Foundation, and the Salt Lake City Redevelopment Advisory Committee.